Stevedoring Industry Award 2020. Verified penalty rates, shift loadings, leave loading and RDO arrangements, with a live calculator under the NES.
| Component | Formula | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Accrual rate (FULL-TIME) | 4 wks × 35h ÷ 52 | 2.692 hrs/wk |
| Hours accrued | 2.692 × 52 wks | 140.38 hrs |
| Hourly base rate | - | $35.00 |
| Base leave value | 140.38 × $35.00 | $4,913.46 |
| 17.5% leave loading | base × 0.175 | + $859.86 |
| Total payout | - | $5,773.32 |
Disclaimer: This tool does not constitute legal or financial advice. Results may be inaccurate due to changes in legislation or your circumstances. This tool does not constitute legal or financial advice. We do not recommend taking actions based solely on these results. The calculator makes assumptions and results may be inaccurate due to changes in legislation, modern awards, or your personal circumstances. You use this information at your own risk. We can't guarantee to be perfect, so do note you use the information at your own risk and we can't accept liability if things go wrong. For official guidance, visit Fair Work Ombudsman (fairwork.gov.au). Fair Work Ombudsman.
Hours are set to this award's 35 hour full-time week, not the 38 hour week in the hint.
Dollar rates effective from 1 July 2026 after the Annual Wage Review increase. Penalty rates verified against the MA000053 award text.
What each hour is worth as a percentage of the base rate, for permanent and casual employees.
7 levels, measured from $0 so the gaps between them are true to scale.
Lifted each year by the Annual Wage Review. Up 23.7% since FY2023. Percentages are the movement in the NMW itself, which exceeded the award increase in the years the Commission realigned it to the C13 rate.
Every loading in the award, side by side for full-time and guaranteed wage employees and casuals.
| Hours worked | Full-time and guaranteed wage | Casual (incl. loading) |
|---|---|---|
| Ordinary hours | 100% | 125% |
| Saturday | 200% | See notes |
| Sunday | 250% | See notes |
| Public holiday | See notes | See notes |
| Evening, on a shift starting between 1.00pm and 5.00pm, Monday to Friday | 150% | See notes |
| Night shift | 200% | See notes |
| Night shift on a Saturday, starting at or after 10.00pm | 250% | Not stated |
| Night shift on a Sunday, starting at or after 10.00pm | 200% | Not stated |
| Day or evening shift on a public holiday | 250% | Not stated |
| Night shift on a public holiday | 300% | Not stated |
| Day workers on a public holiday | 200% or 250% | Not stated |
No single public holiday rate. Clause 30.2 pays public holiday work under clause 21.3(a) or 21.5(b). A shiftworker gets 250% on a day or evening shift and 300% on a night shift (clause 21.5(b)). For a day worker, clause 21.3(a) is 200% while clause 21.3(b) names public holidays at 250%, and the award does not say which applies, so check with the Fair Work Ombudsman before relying on either figure.
This award does not state a casual rate for weekend, shift or public holiday hours. Rather than publish a figure the award text does not support, we show none. Check the FWO Pay Calculator for your classification.
All values are percentages of the base hourly rate. Casual rates shown are inclusive of the 25% casual loading on top of the full-time and guaranteed wage rate. For your own dollar amounts, use the FWO Pay Calculator.
These are the percentages. To turn them into dollars for a specific roster, the penalty rates calculator prices Saturday, Sunday, public holiday and shift hours against this award’s own classification rates.
Weekly rates are for 35 ordinary hours. Casual hourly includes the 25% loading.
| Level | Classification | Weekly rate | Hourly rate | Casual hourly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 1 | Stevedoring employee Grade 1 | $978.10 | $27.95 | $34.94 |
| Grade 2 | Stevedoring employee Grade 2 | $1,004.90 | $28.71 | $35.89 |
| Grade 3 | Stevedoring employee Grade 3 | $1,050.70 | $30.02 | $37.53 |
| Grade 4 | Stevedoring employee Grade 4 | $1,111.10 | $31.75 | $39.69 |
| Grade 5 | Stevedoring employee Grade 5 | $1,134.20 | $32.41 | $40.51 |
| Grade 6 | Stevedoring employee Grade 6 | $1,209.50 | $34.56 | $43.20 |
| Grade 7 | Stevedoring employee Grade 7 | $1,362.00 | $38.91 | $48.64 |
Rates effective from 1 July 2026 after the Annual Wage Review increase. Weekly rates are for 35 ordinary hours. Casual rates include the 25% loading on top of the hourly rate. Source: the MA000053 award text as consolidated to 1 July 2026.
Paid on top of the base rate. Amounts effective from 1 July 2026.
| Allowance | Amount | Frequency | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Terminal operation allowance | $14.33 - $49.00 | per week | Clause 18.2(j). Grades 1 to 5 operational $27.56, Grades 3 to 5 clerical $14.33, Grades 4, 6 and 7 maintenance $49.00, Grades 6 and 7 supervisory $27.56, Grade 3 security $21.22. These are consolidated disability allowances, and the maintenance allowance includes supplying and maintaining the tools ordinarily required. |
| Electrician's licence allowance | $50.56 | per week | Clause 18.2(b), for an electrical mechanic who holds and may be required to use an unrestricted licence. Paid for all purposes (clause 18.2(a)). |
| Specialist functions allowance | $31.89 | per week | Clause 18.2(c), for a Grade 3 or 4 employee trained, competent and required to perform specialist functions of both an operational and clerical nature. Paid for all purposes. |
| Leading hand tradesperson allowance | $45.33 - $86.22 | per week | Clause 18.2(e). $45.33 in charge of 3 to 10 employees, $67.44 for 11 to 20, $86.22 for more than 20. |
| Maintenance tradesperson in accredited training | $1166.70 or $1222.20 | per week | Clause 18.2(f), weekly rates for a Grade 4 maintenance tradesperson training towards a post-trade certificate for Grade 6: $1166.70 after 33% of the modules and $1222.20 after 66%. The award describes them as 105% and 110% of the Grade 4 rate. |
| First aid allowance | $23.67 | per week | Clause 18.2(d), not payable to a Grade 3 employee whose primary function is first aid. |
| Stevedoring operations allowance, other than terminal operations | $1.22 - $8.22 | per hour | Clause 18.2(h). Explosives $2.89, bulk barley and oats $3.89, other bulk grain $3.00, freezer cargo below -12C $2.56, freezer cargo at -12C and above $1.22, nickel concentrates $8.22, first aid employees $5.33. |
| Roll-on and roll-off vessel allowance | $2.00 | per hour | Clause 18.2(g), for noise exposure on a roll-on and roll-off vessel. |
| Telephone allowance | $15.11 | per week | Clause 18.2(i), where required to telephone for allocation or cancellation, or to be available by telephone. |
| Vehicle allowance | $1.00 | per km | Clause 18.3(b), where the employer requires you to use your own vehicle on its business. Grade 7 employees instead get $98.49 a week (clause 18.3(c)(i)). |
| Meal allowance | $25.77 or $18.45 | per occasion | Clause 18.3(e), $25.77 for a day worker on overtime on a Saturday, Sunday or public holiday. Clause 18.3(f), $18.45 per meal for a shiftworker on overtime of an hour or more, a double header, or weekend or public holiday overtime. |
| Laundry allowance | $9.45 | per week per set | Clause 18.3(d), for each set of overalls or other issued clothing, up to 2 sets. |
| Outport allowances | $44.92 - $210.72 | per day | Clause 18.5. $44.92 out of pocket expenses where accommodation and meals are provided, $154.76 where they are not and the transfer is for a defined number of days, $210.72 for a flexible number of days, and $135.12 for a Saturday, Sunday or public holiday kept in the outport without work. Own vehicle to and from the outport is $1.00 per km. |
Set by Stevedoring Industry Award 2020 (MA000053) and the NES.
Where this award goes beyond, or sits at, the NES floor.
An employee who is available to work on any shift Monday to Sunday and who actually attends for work as required from time to time on both Saturday and Sunday is a shiftworker for the NES annual leave provisions and gets a 5th week (clause 24.2). There is no 24 hour, 7 day roster test. Their excessive leave accrual threshold is 10 weeks instead of 8 (clause 24.10(a)).
Day workers get a flat 27.5%. Shift workers get the same flat 27.5%. The 27.5% is calculated on the pay for your ordinary hours at your ordinary hourly rate, which includes the all-purpose electrician's licence and specialist functions allowances where you receive them (clauses 2, 18.2(a) and 24.6). Run the numbers in the annual leave loading calculator.
No formal RDO accrual cycle in this award. Time off in lieu of overtime (TOIL) may still be available.
The Stevedoring Award sets your pay rates, but your paid leave runs on the National Employment Standards. Work out 4 weeks of holidays with the annual leave calculator, and your 10 days of paid sick and carer's leave with the personal leave calculator. To confirm which award applies to you and how it lifts entitlements above the NES floor, read our guide to modern awards.
The Stevedoring Award (MA000053) is the common name for the Stevedoring Industry Award 2020. Industries, work types and exclusions are taken from the Fair Work Ombudsman summary.
Notes & exclusions. Full-time hours are 35 a week (clause 13.1(a)), and the award sets the hourly rate as the weekly rate divided by 35 (clause 16.2). Grade 1 is $978.10 a week, below the National Minimum Wage weekly figure, and $27.95 an hour. There is no part-time employment: you are full-time, guaranteed wage (guaranteed a minimum or average number of full shifts each week, clause 10.1) or casual (clause 8.1). A guaranteed wage employee accrues NES leave on the hours actually worked (clause 10.2). Penalties turn on the shift and the day (clause 23.2). Day shift is 100% Monday to Friday, 200% on Saturday and 250% on Sunday. Evening shift is 150% Monday to Friday, 200% on Saturday and 250% on Sunday. Night shift is 200% Sunday to Friday and 250% on Saturday, so a Saturday night pays more than a Sunday night. A day worker's ordinary hours are 7.00am to 5.00pm Monday to Friday (clause 13.2), so their weekend work is overtime at 200% on a Saturday and 250% on a Sunday (clause 21.3). The public holiday rate is not settled for day workers. Clause 30.2 sends public holiday work to clause 21.3(a) or 21.5(b). For a shiftworker, clause 21.5(b) gives 250% on a day or evening shift and 300% on a night shift. For a day worker, clause 21.3(a) is the Monday to Saturday overtime rate of 200%, while clause 21.3(b) names public holidays at 250%. The award does not say which applies, so check with the Fair Work Ombudsman before relying on either figure. Casuals get a 25% loading on each ordinary hour (clause 11.2), and the award prints casual overtime rates that compound the loading, such as 250% for a casual day worker Monday to Saturday and 312.5% on a Sunday or public holiday (clause 21.4). It states no casual rate for weekend, shift or public holiday ordinary hours, so we publish none. Annual leave loading is 27.5% (clause 24.6(b)), and an employee engaged in the industry on 25 November 1991 keeps an extra week of annual leave (clause 24.3). There is no rostered day off system. An employee directed to report on a Saturday, Sunday or public holiday is paid at least 7 hours (clause 23.3(c)). Unused personal/carer's leave is paid out on death, retirement, redundancy, resignation after 10 years' service, or acceptance as totally or permanently disabled (clause 25.2). Maintenance contractors covered by the Manufacturing Award or the Electrical Contracting Award are excluded (clause 4.3(b)).
Each classification has its own pay grade. Use the FWO Pay Calculator for current dollar rates.
Penalty rates, leave entitlements and award-specific provisions under MA000053. Verified against the modern award text.
Penalty rates, shift loadings and continuous-shift eligibility on this page were verified against Stevedoring Industry Award 2020 (MA000053) on the Fair Work Commission's awards.fairwork.gov.au.
For up-to-date pay rates by classification, refer to the FWO Pay Calculator. Modern awards are reviewed and varied periodically by the Fair Work Commission; check the source for the latest text.